Give a BIG SCREEN Valentine to your loved ones at the Roxy!

Every ten years since 1952, the venerable magazine Sight & Sound polls filmmakers and critics for their lists of the best movies ever made, creating an ever-evolving canon. In 2022, the list arrived once again, generating conversation and controversy throughout the world. This January, the Roxy is proud to present 15 of the 100 greatest films of all time--Selections from the 2022 Sight & Sound List.

The line-up: 

Wednesday, January 4: PERSONA (#18, sponsored by The Wren)
Thursday, January 5: THE RULES OF THE GAME (#13)
Saturday, January 7: BLADE RUNNER (#54)
Sunday, January 8: VERTIGO (#2, Essential Cinema) 
Wednesday, January 11: DAUGHTERS OF THE DUST (#60, sponsored by The Wren)
Thursday, January 12: MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO (#72, Persistence of Vision: Animated Masterworks, sponsored by Flippers)
Saturday, January 14: DAISIES (#28)
Wednesday, January 18: RASHOMON (#41, sponsored by The Wren)
Thursday, January 19: BEAU TRAVAIL (#7, MTFF Presents) 
Saturday, January 21: SINGIN' IN THE RAIN (#10)
Sunday, January 22: JEANNE DIELMAN (#1, Cinema Abroad, sponsored by Clyde Coffee)
Wednesday, January 25 IN THE MOOD FOR LOVE (#5, in 35mm, sponsored by The Wren) 
Thursday, January 26: MAN WITH A MOVIE CAMERA (#9, with live accompaniment from Travis Yost)
Saturday, January 28: THE NIGHT OF THE HUNTER (#25)
Monday, January 30: SOME LIKE IT HOT (#38, Out at the Roxy, Sponsored by Golden Yolk Griddle)

SINGIN' IN THE RAIN: Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds and Donald O'Connor star in Singin' in the Rain, one of the greatest and most successful musicals ever filmed - filled with memorable songs, lavish routines and Kelly's fabulous song-and-dance number performed in the rain. Set during the advent of "talkies," Don Lockwood has risen to stardom during Hollywood's silent-movie era - paired with the beautiful, jealous and dumb Lina Lamont. And when Lockwood becomes attracted to young studio singer Kathy Selden, Lamont has her fired. But with the introduction of talking pictures, Lockwood finds his career in jeopardy after audiences laugh when they hear Lamont speak in her shrill voice for the first time... until the studio decides to use Selden to dub her voice.


Cast: Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds, Donald O'Connor, Cyd Charisse, Rita Moreno
Director: Stanley Donen
Rated: G
Duration: 103 min
Released: 1952
Genre: Musical/Comedy
Singin’ in the Rain