Selections from the 2022 Sight & Sound List

Man with a Movie Camera with Live Accompaniment from Travis Yost

Every ten years since 1952, the venerable cinema magazine Sight & Sound polls filmmakers and critics for their lists of the best movies ever made, creating an ever-evolving canon. In 2022, the list arrived once again, generating conversation and controversy throughout the world. This January, the Roxy is proud to present 15 of the 100 greatest films of all time: Selections from the 2022 Sight & Sound List.

The line-up: 

Wednesday, January 4: PERSONA (#18, sponsored by The Wren)

Thursday, January 5: THE RULES OF THE GAME (#13)

Saturday, January 7: BLADE RUNNER (#54)

Sunday, January 8: VERTIGO (#2, Essential Cinema) 

Wednesday, January 11: DAUGHTERS OF THE DUST (#60, sponsored by The Wren)

Thursday, January 12: MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO (#72, Persistence of Vision: Animated Masterworks, sponsored by Flippers)

Saturday, January 14: DAISIES (#28)

Wednesday, January 18: RASHOMON (#41, sponsored by The Wren)

Thursday, January 19: BEAU TRAVAIL (#7, MTFF Presents) 

Saturday, January 21: SINGIN' IN THE RAIN (#10)

Sunday, January 22: JEANNE DIELMAN (#1, Cinema Abroad, sponsored by Clyde Coffee)

Wednesday, January 25 IN THE MOOD FOR LOVE (#5, in 35mm, sponsored by The Wren) 

Thursday, January 26: MAN WITH A MOVIE CAMERA (#9, with live accompaniment from Travis Yost)

Saturday, January 28: THE NIGHT OF THE HUNTER (#25)

Monday, January 30: SOME LIKE IT HOT (#38, Out at the Roxy, Sponsored by Golden Yolk Griddle)


MAN WITH A MOVIE CAMERA: One of the most innovative and influential films of the silent era, Dziga Vertov’s Man With A Movie Camera utilizes rapid editing and innumerable other cinematic effects to create a work of amazing modernity and power. This dawn-to-dusk view of urban Soviet life shows people at work, at play, and at the machines that endlessly whirl to keep the metropolis alive. It was Vertov’s first full-length film, and it employs all the cinematic techniques at the director’s disposal—dissolves, split-screens, slow-motion, and freeze-frames—to produce a work that is as exhilarating as it is intellectually brilliant. 

Presented with live musical accompaniment from Travis Yost!


Director: Dziga Vertov
Duration: 88 min
Released: 1929
Genre: Documentary/Experimental
Country: Soviet Union

Selections from the 2022 Sight & Sound List

Man with a Movie Camera with Live Accompaniment from Travis Yost

Man with a Movie Camera with Live Accompaniment from Travis Yost

Showtimes

Thursday, January 26th